democracy wins: derek webb covers the beatles’ ‘eleanor rigby”

date header separator

Thursday, September 9th, 2010

democracy wins: derek webb covers the beatles’ ‘eleanor rigby”

since this past january, i’ve been blogging about derek webb’s latest innovative project called democracy vol. 1. earlier this year, fans could cast votes for up to 12 songs that they wanted webb to cover. then, the 12 songs receiving the most votes would be covered by webb for the album. the album has been in the process of being recorded over the span of 2010, with 1 track being recorded and released each month. over the past 7 months, webb released the first seven tracks. here’s the current track listing:

1. the beatles: while my guitar gently weeps
2. coldplay: fix you
3. bob dylan: the times they are a-changin’
4. gnarls barkley: who’s gonna save my soul
5. sufjan stevens: chicago
6. u2: where the streets have no name
7. huey lewis and the news: power of love

instead of releasing the the full list of tracks, webb is revealing each track month-by-month. and today, we found out the eighth one.

august’s (yes, it’s late) track is another beatles’ song: eleanor rigby.

this has been one of the more straight forward covers he’s doneā€”not to imply that that’s a bad thing. it’s just a good, solid cover. i’m actually not surprised it’s relatively basic because the reason the track’s release got pushed back was that he was working on his upcoming album, feedback (which appears to be amazing/epic).

so, another beatles’ song. not a bad thing, i’d say.

but, don’t take my word for it. check it out for yourself. here’s the track.

derek webb / eleanor rigby: