two in review: september/october 2014

date header separator

Thursday, October 30th, 2014

two in review september october 2014

two in review: september/october 2014

this little blog has been the victim of some serious neglect. shame on me. but if there’s one thing i’m good for, it’s every 2 months when it’s time for another two in review, so let’s do it again.

the last couple months have been pretty good for new music. underpinned by a few big names who have released long-anticipated new music (noel gallagher, gwen stefani, u2) along with a mix of new(ish) faces (verite, st. paul & the broken bones, empires), there’s been a steady flow of worthwhile music. all in all, the 2014 trend of a not-so-great music year continues, but for now, i think this two in review came together pretty well.

so, here’s the lineup for the september/october edition:

    1. john mark mcmillan: monster talks (ft. bear rinehart) [from the borderland sessions]
    2. hozier: jackie and wilson [from hozier]
    3. betty who: just like me [from take me when you go]
    4. jessie ware: kind of…sometimes…maybe (ft. j. cole) [from tough love]
    5. alt-j: left hand free [from this is all yours]
    6. noel gallagher: in the heat of the moment [from chasing yesterday]
    7. gwen stefani: baby don’t lie [from her upcoming album]
    8. run the jewels: close your eyes (ft. zack de la rocha) [from run the jewels 2]
    9. verite: echo [from echo ep]
    10. you + me: capsized [from rose ave.]
    11. bush: the only way out [from man on the run]
    12. st. paul & the broken bones: call me [from half the city]
    13. tennis: needle and a knife [from ritual in repeat]
    14. horse feathers: violently wild [from so it is with us]
    15. empires: please don’t tell my lover [from orphan]
    16. jennifer knapp: neosho [from set me free]
    17. baauer: one touch (ft. alunageorge & rae sremmurd) [from ß ep]
    18. calvin harris: pray to god (ft. haim) [from motion]
    19. blake mills: don’t tell our friends about me [from heigh ho]
    20. u2: the troubles (ft. lykke li) [from songs of innocence]

get your download on, folks.

download the zip